I Almost Forgot!

Plans that didn’t work out: several

Frustration level: low

Happiness & relaxation: abundant

I am enjoying writing every day! But for all that, today I almost forgot. Today I said goodbye to my brother at the airport. It is strange to think that he won’t be around anymore. We went for shows, sang songs and enjoyed life during his visit, and he reminded me to enjoy London, enjoy the amazing life that I can have here.

Feeling bereft, we wandered the WHSmith at Stansted, and I bought a book, The Last Days of Rabbit Hayes. I’m 80 pages in, and it’s beautiful – an Irish family who have to deal with one of their own, 40-year-old woman, mother, daughter, dying of cancer. It’s written with warmth, poignancy, humour and occasions of raw emotion that make your hair stand on end. I look forward to the journey it will take me on.

And if I need cheering up, the video of my brother and I at Stansted, singing Stand By Me – just like the old times – will be just the thing. Upwards and onwards. Our talents need to be shown, our voices – heard. And our friendship is a thing of beauty.

Off to my book! 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Almost Forgot!

  1. Great to hear that you have such an amazing relationship to your brother! Thinking back to childhood makes me smile several times. But now, I won’t keep you from reading your new book anymore, so enjoy it and have a great day! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you for your kind comment! 🙂 My brother and I used to argue terribly – two big personalities in a confined space – but we’ve always been very close and it was great to have him over. Do you have siblings? I finished the book yesterday, the nostalgic Irish landscape palled eventually, but it was emotionally satisfying 🙂

    Like

Talk To Me!

