Gay father’s delight: ‘Dad, thank you for inspiring me’

76 CRIMES

A Father’s Day blessing

Maurice Tomlinson is delighted by his son's letter of thanks. (Photo courtesy of Facebook) Maurice Tomlinson is delighted by his son’s letter of thanks. (Photo courtesy of Facebook)

Growing up in the Christian fundamentalist society of Jamaica, I believed in my church’s teaching that I could be cured of my homosexuality by simply marrying a woman. I therefore married my best female friend who knew about my sexual orientation, but like me, she also believed in a “gay-cure.”

As expected, this failed miserably, and after four years I left the marriage when I realized that I could no longer be authentically intimate with my now ex-wife. However, we were blessed with a wonderful son, currently age 14, whom we both love dearly.

He lives with his mother in the Caribbean and I have not seen him in over three years. He and I have never spoken directly about my homosexuality or my same-gender marriage because I always thought that he…

View original post 241 more words

Talk To Me!

